Ten New Commandments

It’s remarkable that Christians look at the 10 Commandments with awe. It’s no accident – they are, after all, the only words that God felt were important enough to write himself (and in stone). Strangely, when Jesus was asked what the greatest commandment was, he told his followers what the greatest and second greatest were… and neither of them were among “the” commandments. I think this is because Jesus recognized the ten commandments as being foolish, and his actions showed this, too. He didn’t honor the sabbath, and said that it was made for man rather than for God. He didn’t honor his mother when she came to visit him, and instead said that those who did God’s will were his “brother and sister and mother”. And in all his teachings, he didn’t repeat these commands or draw attention to them.

It’s also remarkable that the bible is so boring. Men, God’s creations, wrote better than He did. Shakespeare was clearly not a Christian, so God can’t even claim partial credit for inspiring his wonderful plays that are still re-read and pondered over today.

It’s in this spirit that I’m writing my own personal ten commandments. I think I can do a much better job than he did (“Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s wife?” Seriously, that’s more important than “Thou shalt not beat thy own wife”?). These commandments carry no penalty of eternal torment, or a death penalty, or even a slap on the wrist. But I believe they do lead to personal peace and growth.

Supernova’s Ten Commandments:

1. Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

2. Treat everyone as equals. Be fair to everyone. Do not give or demand special treatment.

3. Respect the opinions of others and allow them to disagree with you.

4. Presume innocence until proven guilty. Be careful not to ruin another person’s reputation.

5. Be careful before judging others. Be willing to see the world from another person’s point of view.

6. Be skeptical of new ideas, but don’t close your mind to them. Ask for evidence and seek knowledge.

7. Don’t harm or injure animals except in matters of human safety or survival.

8. Raise your children to be safe, healthy, and kind towards others. Allow them to have their own beliefs, opinions, and personalities. Don’t treat them like slaves.

9. If you hurt someone, fix the mistake if possible and apologize. Don’t repeat your mistake.

10. Be quick to forgive a mistake that is openly admitted and honestly regretted.

There’s nothing on this list about lying or stealing or murdering, but the first commandment prevents that. In fact, that one commandment covers the rest pretty nicely, too. It isn’t called “The Golden Rule” for nothing. And it is actually from the bible… but somehow didn’t crack the top ten.

-Supernova

About starcrashx

I love statistics. They drive my poker playing, my reasoning, and my research. As Penn Gillete said "Luck is probability taken personally". There's no such thing as luck... but I wish you positive chance. View all posts by starcrashx

5 responses to “Ten New Commandments

  • posicionamiento web

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

  • seo

    I think this is one of the most vital info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things, The website style is perfect, the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

  • frostwire

    I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an nervousness over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again since exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this increase.

  • Options

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is great blog. A great read. I’ll certainly be back.

  • binarias

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

